2018 Alumni Agent of Change

Event Information

UBC Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences Alumni Agent of Change 2018 will be held at the Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre on UBC’s Point Grey Campus. Event registration and other details will be available in the coming months.


2018 Alumni Agent of Change
Bob Nakagawa, BSc(Pharm)’80

Bob Nakagawa is the registrar of the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia, which is responsible for administering provincial pharmacy legislation and protecting public health by licensing and regulating pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and the pharmacies in which they practice. He draws on his extensive industry knowledge to inform and operationalize the College Board’s direction in regulating pharmacy practice. Additionally, he manages and provides guidance to the College’s executive team in the creation and fulfillment of strategic goals and initiatives.

Bob is a registered pharmacist with over 35 years of experience, having held numerous positions in hospital pharmacy and public health administration. After beginning his career as a staff pharmacist at St. Paul’s Hospital, Bob moved to Lions Gate Hospital where he spent 13 years serving as director in a number of different areas including pharmacy; pharmacy and clinical nutrition; community drug utilization; clinical nutrition and palliative care; and patient care services. From there he moved into roles including Pharmacare director with the Ministry of Health and director of pharmacy services for both the Simon Fraser Health Region and the Fraser Health Authority. 

Prior to taking on the role of registrar at the College, Bob served as the assistant deputy minister of the Pharmaceutical Services Division of the Ministry of Health. During his time with the Ministry, he was responsible for Pharmanet, drug use optimization programs and other provincial drug programs. He implemented an innovative evidence-based policy-making model that has become the gold standard for public drug plans in Canada.

Bob also has extensive experience as an industry leader in BC’s pharmacy profession having served as president (board-chair) of the College of Pharmacists of BC, and of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists. He also served as the Federal government representative on the Health Council of Canada and chaired the Medical Services Commission, the BC Drug Benefits Committee, and the Federal Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee for Canada.