UBC Pharm Sci researchers receive SSHRC funding and renewed Canada Research Chair

The Government of Canada has announced significant investments in research funding for projects at UBC and beyond.
Firstly, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) have announced recipients of Insight Develoment Grants. These grants will fund 585 research projects to a total of over $35 million. Two UBC Pharm Sci researchers are among this year’s recipients. 
UBC Pharm Sci associate professor and executive director of entry-to-practice education, Dr. Kerry Wilbur, will receive funding for a project titled “Community pharmacists roles in collaborative patient-centred care: a social network analysis.” This project is in collaboration with Dr. Laura Nimmon from UBC Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy. Dr. Annalijn Conklin, assistant professor, will receive funding for a project titled “Social connectedness, life transitions, gender and eating habits: longitudinal study of a Canadian aging cohort.” Read the full SSHRC Insight Development Grants announcement here.
Additionally, 176 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs were announced. Nineteen UBC researchers are among those supported in this latest round of appointments. Among them, UBC Pharm Sci associate professor, Dr. Mary De Vera, has received a renewed Canada Research Chair in Health Outcomes and Treatment Adherence. For over two decades, the Canada Research Chairs Program has helped some of Canada’s most esteemed researchers build rich and diverse research teams, make groundbreaking discoveries, tackle critical challenges, and ultimately pave the way for a more promising future for Canadians. Read the full Canada Research Chair appointment announcement here.