Honouring our partners in clinical education

Each year, over 600 practice educators welcome our bachelor of science in pharmacy and entry-to-practice doctor of pharmacy students into their practice sites across British Columbia.

Here, students benefit from their preceptor's mentorship and learn how to take their skills and knowledge from the classroom to the pharmacy.

To help recognize the significant contributions of our preceptors, the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at UBC hosts the annual Practice Educator of the Year awards program. Students may nominate their practice educator to receive an award by way of an essay detailing their practicum experiences, including specific teaching examples. Final award recipients from each of the practicum courses are selected by the Faculty's Office of Experiential Education.

This year, the Faculty presented Practice Educator of the Year awards to Mona Kwong, BSc(Pharm)'97, MSc'03, Jina Sarkis-Dina, and Peter Hutt, BSc(Pharm)'75.

With one-quarter of the Faculty's undergraduate curriculum experientially based – and over 800 undergraduate students – educating the next generation of pharmacists would not be possible without our practice educators. However, as this year's awards recipients noted, the benefits are not mutually exclusive. Practice educators work to help facilitate the personal and professional growth of our students, while pharmacy students bring a fresh energy and perspective to their placement site.

"Pharmacy students bring a new infusion of enthusiasm and commitment to the practice. Who is the student and who is the teacher? Sometimes it's hard to tell!" says Peter Hutt, recipient of the Pharmacy 171 award.

Pharmacy 469 (IPPE) recipient Mona Kwong is in agreement. "We enjoy hosting learners because of their creative energy, fresh approach, and their willingness to learn and engage with us," she says.

"Our patients also really enjoy spending time (with our students). They're always looking forward to meeting the next trainee."

This year's Practice Educator of the Year award recipients were presented with their commemorative plaques at an evening reception held on January 18, 2017 at the Museum of Vancouver.

"It's a real honour to receive a Practice Educator award," says Pharmacy 369 award recipient, Jina Sarkis-Dina.

"It feels great to know that my coaching and mentorship is appreciated. When I read what the student who nominated me wrote about his practicum experience last summer, it brought tears to my eyes."

Practice Educator Award recipients for Phar 479 and 489 courses will be adjudicated in Spring 2017. 

Top Image: Justin Lee Ohata, UBC Pharm Sci.

Other Contacts

Office of Experiential Education